What a Waste Of Liam Neeson

I have loved Liam Neeson ever since I first discovered him in Nell, with Jodie Foster.  I love his voice, I love

Liam as Rob Roy

Liam as Rob Roy

his pensiveness.  I love that he’s Irish.

I’ve enjoyed everything he’s ever been in – Schindler’s List excepted; I don’t think it’s right to say that you enjoyed that movie….but you know what I mean.

A few years ago The Man About the Place went to the video store and came home with Gangs of New York.

I was not interested, as I can not stand Leonardo DiCapprio, except in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, and the true draw to that movie, for me, was Johnny Depp – Leo was kind of a surprise for me in that movie.

Anyway, I was bummed that he brought that movie home, until he said “Honey, Liam Neeson is in it too.”

Oh, well that changes things then.  Imagine my anger when Liam died, like ten minutes into the movie!  Hubby laughed at my distress, but I was finished.  I couldn’t take Leo and his fake Irish brogue and I quickly retreated to a more interesting activity, like folding laundry.

Last year hubby gave me The Kingdom of Heaven for my birthday – again, because he saw that Liam Neeson was in it.  Orlando Bloom is okay (except he seems to bellow a lot…) but I was really digging Liam as a knight on a Crusade.

Until he died early in the film.  Ripped off again, just like Gangs of New York.

What the heck is this?  Why is Liam being wasted on these “early death” small roles?  Please, don’t tease me like this.  If Liam is going to die early, please put it on the box so I won’t waste my time watching it…I’ll just pull out Rob Roy or Les Miserables instead, so I can have ALL of Liam.

wizzy

Leave a Comment

