In Defense of Gift Cards

Why are They Dissed?

RANT AHEAD:
I’d really like to take this time to rant about how STUPID I think a certain line of thinking is, regarding gift cards.

“I think giving gift cards is 100% thoughtless unless you don’t know the person.”

It’s a gift, someone thought about you, someone drove to a store, and probably picked out a gift card with a cute picture on it – purchased it and sent it to you. It has value, it cost them something, and the best part is you can get what you want with it.

Is a birthday card with a scribbled signature and nothing to go with it more thoughtful? The same thought that goes into buying a gift card goes into buying a birthday card – unless it’s a birthday card from a box, which means there is even LESS thought behind it.

My brother’s family lives 3000 miles away. I have not seen them for 14 years with the exception of two days this July. I do not know what they have, what they want, what they need, what they don’t need. But I show that I love and think about them and want to give them something. I not only pick out a different style card for each family member, but I pick one with a picture on it that will appeal to them. I then purchase a tiny gift to go with it, like a new pair of gloves or a new pair of socks, and wrap them up with a “XXXOOO DON’T OPEN TILL CHRISTMAS” message on it.

And I know that a lot of people get hoity toity, dismissing gift cards as “thoughtless” – when actually it might be the most thoughtful thing someone can give, since they recognize maybe you might want something other than what they may pick for you.

I think looking down on someone’s gift of a gift card is as ungrateful as not liking some other gift (i.e., another useless set of stinky cheap lotion and shower gel in a basket, or a cheapo men’s tool kit with an imitation leather case, or two bottles of Old Spice….or yet another Hickory Farms box of fake cheese and stinky salami.)

Sorry, I had to get that off my chest – I’ve seen people degrade gift cards long enough!

HEY EVERYONE! YOU CAN GIVE ME ALL THE GIFT CARDS YOU GET THAT  “WEREN’T THOUGHTFUL ENOUGH…”

BTW, there is an email circulating about store closings and gift cards, etc.  Here is an update from Snopes.com about it.

wizzy

2 thoughts on “In Defense of Gift Cards

  1. Jeff C. says:

    If you really are addicted to gift card giving check out http://www.giftzip.com. I found this on stumbleupon (also an awesome tool) but it is basically a giant hyperlinked directory of instant or emailable gift cards. Then you won’t even have to go to the store or ship anything Wizzy!

Leave a Comment

