Stupid Stories about 12 Days of Christmas

I am constantly annoyed by the perpetuation of stupid myths by my brothers and sisters in Christ. The one currently annoying me is the “Theology” of The Twelve Days of Christmas.

I pride myself on my imagination, but there is no way that a “partridge in a pear tree” will make anyone think of Jesus Christ. Or “three French hens” will make people remember “Father, Son, Holy Ghost.” When I hear “three French hens” I think “DINNER!”

Some of the ideas are not so far fetched; the two turtle doves could make one think of the Bible (Old and New Testament) since the dove has long been a traditional biblical symbol. The 5 golden rings being the 5 books of Moses? It’s a stretch but not too bad.

The rest of it is way too much of a stretch. Someone had a very vivid imagination and probably too much time on their hands to come up with the rest of the theological contortions…

I am sick and tired of this nonsense being spread around in emails and on blogs – spreading fiction as fact is makes Christians look like gullible idiots.

TRUTH OR FICTION: 12 Days of Christmas

wizzy

Leave a Comment

