High School Reunion

I’ve seen the ads for High School Reunion on TV – I never was attracted to this particular “reality” show.

This afternoon while enjoying a partial “snow day” I was flicking through the channels – my old soaps don’t appeal to me since I haven’t watched them in years. Reruns of Green Acres didn’t really appeal to me either. I stopped on an episode of  High School Reunion.

Now I know why my initial response to this show was “ick.”

The only thing terrific about this reunion is that it’s in Hawaii. However, it seems like there are a bunch of 17 year olds in 37 year old bodies. Petty jealousies, crushes, annoyances, etc…

My 20th high school reunion was nothing like this.  First of all, it was not in Hawaii (bummer) but most importantly, it

Me & Princess in High School

Me & Princess in High School

was a lot of fun.  There were people I spoke and laughed with who wouldn’t give me a 2nd glance in high school.  I was so bummed that it was over after just a few hours.  I’m looking forward to the next one.

Watching this show is like driving by an accident scene, and watching what’s going on – you are repulsed and compelled at the same time.

I’m not sure, but I’ll bet some of the other viewers are probably held by the same compulsion.  If my reunions were like this, I’d never go; it’s too much like still being in high school.

wizzy

Leave a Comment

