Whitney. I Always Loved You.

Just this morning, I was thinking about writing a post about Whitney Houston. I was leaving the convenience store and happened to notice a tabloid in the stand, featuring a grotesque photo of one of the icons of my youth…Whitney Houston.  Looking shockingly more like a 70 year old woman instead of one who was only in her 40’s, I thought…”what a tragedy for her to ruin her body so…”

I also was disgusted at the tabloids and the people who keep them in business. They seem to serve only one purpose: to stomp on people when they are down and remind the public that they are “has beens.”  If you’re too fat, they make fun of every move you make (Ala Kirstey Alley).  If you are too thin, they cry out that you suffer from eating disorders.  You just can’t win when you are in the spotlight.

How horrifying for me to come home tonight and discover the news that Whitney passed away earlier today.  At this point, the cause of death has not been released.  Whether it was drug related or not, I am going to venture to say that her years of substance abuse certainly weakened her body, mind, and spirit to the point that she could not fight whatever it was that finally took her from us.  Too soon. Way too soon.

I have to say I am disgusted by some of the rude comments I’ve seen about Whitney…not only in recent history, but today. After the shocking news of her death was released.

I never once, ever, ever, even THOUGHT to make fun of that poor woman when she was alive and struggling with her horrible addictions – let alone now that she is gone. My heart was broken for her. I just don’t think it’s funny to make fun of people who are weak.

People were not created to be on a pedestal as we put our performers and athletes. They cave under the pressure that they think they wanted..we train our young children to idolize these people and train them to want to be ‘famous too’ and then when the few get there, they find it’s a life of horrors – horrors trying to live up, to compete, to remain relevant, to remain beautiful…and when the control begins to slip away, instead of being compassionate the public lashes out at the very ones that were “darlings” when they were perceived as “perfect.”

The whole celebrity machine sickens me. I don’t make fun of stars who are messed up. Well, except Tom Cruise, I guess, I confess, I have hated on him a bit. But I repent. These people need our prayers…not our fickle temporary adoration until the next shiny thing comes along.

I wish I had taken the time to send Whitney a note telling her that I love her, always have, and always will. No other vocalist has caused me to break out in goosebumps at the mere thought of her singing “I Will Always Love You.”  Granted, I have always loved Dolly’s version of the song, and she always made me cry when I heard her singing it…but Whitney took it to a whole other level.

I hope, Whitney, that you are in peace now. I hope you have found the Greatest Love Of All…and it has nothing to do with loving yourself, but rather, the love of the One who died to bring you to His arms one day.  I don’t know what happened, Whitney…but I sincerely hope you are in a better place now.  No more tabloids or cruel jokes…maybe you are helping the angels sing their praises now.

I certainly hope so.  God speed.

Karen Rice, AKA Wizzy

Leave a Comment

