God & Graduation

Recently it was announced that there would be no prayer at graduation ceremonies at Wallenpaupack High School.  My first response was a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. I am actually surprised it took this long to become an issue.

My next thought was wondering how it would affect choral concerts. For as long as I can remember, a mix of music has been performed by the WAHS choir; my favorite has always been The Hallelujah Chorus which ends the Winter Concert.  There has always been a mix of folk, pop, cultural, and sacred (gospel/classical) music at each concert. I will be so sad if The Hallelujah Chorus is removed from the program.

That said….I happened to become philosophical for a few moments. Basically….I feel:

You can’t take God away from those who really want Him…and you can’t force Him on those who really don’t want Him.

I think a lot of the “social religion” stuff is rather hypocritical at worst..at best, superficial and artificial. Those who truly love and seek after God will never lose Him.

Profound? Not really….but true just the same.  God will not be stamped out because He is not going to be summoned PUBLICLY at a high school graduation. Really…our God is way bigger than that.

Leave a Comment

